Placement Locations

Although initially located in the county of Cumbria in north-west England, placements for both the one-term and one-year placement programmes now cover most of the north of England and southern Scotland. Placements range from to just outside the city of Glasgow in the south of Scotland as far as northern Lancashire in the north of England. Within this area (please see attached map, which also shows many of the schools involved) there are several different Education Authorities, a large number of schools and a wide range of different rural and urban localities.  Details of some of the main areas include:


Cumbria is the second largest English county (in size, but not in population) and is situated on the north-west coast of England, just south of the border with Scotland. Predominantly a rural county, a large part of central Cumbria forms the Lake District National Park, one of the most beautiful areas of the UK and one of its most popular tourist destinations. Some useful websites to visit include: Visit Cumbria and Images of the Lake District.

The Lake District forms the central part of Cumbria and most of the centres of population and schools are found around the outskirts of the Lake District National Park. This causes some difficulties when getting around Cumbria as very few roads cross the centre of the county, particularly from east to west, so journeys between towns and cities around the edges of the Lake District can take longer than expected. However, one of the main UK motorways, the M6, passes along the eastern edge of Cumbria and the county is also ringed by railway lines, with the main London to Glasgow line passing through the stations of Oxenholme, Penrith and Carlisle and another local line covering the coast from Lancaster to Barrow-in-Furness and on to Carlisle. For more information on travelling within Cumbria see Transport Direct or Virgin Rail.

The current population of Cumbria is approximately 499,900, with the two largest centres being the city of Carlisle (population 100,500), and the town of Barrow-in-Furness (population 69,100).

Cumbria schools are among some of the best in the country and details of education within Cumbria can be found on the Cumbria County Council website.

Northern Lancashire

Lancashire, the Red Rose county, is situated in the north-west of England just south of the county of Cumbria and has a total population of 1,067,360, with the city of Lancaster having a population of 138,375. Lancashire shares borders not only with Cumbria but also with Greater Manchester, Merseyside, North Yorkshire and West Yorkshire. It has a vibrant multicultural community, and has excellent transport links to north and south and a rich industrial heritage set within a beautiful landscape. For tourist information about Lancashire and the famous seaside resort of Blackpool see Visit Lancashire.

For details of education and other facilities within Lancashire see the Lancashire County Council. For geographical reasons, only schools in the north of Lancashire, near the border with Cumbria, have to date been involved in our one-term and one-year placement programmes.

North Yorkshire

North Yorkshire part of the historical county of Yorkshire (the White Rose county), is a sparsely populated area with a current population of approximately 602,600, with the town of Harrogate (population 76,260) being one of its largest urban areas. North Yorkshire is situated to the east of Cumbria and Lancashire and stretches to the east coast of England. This is another beautiful part of England, with over 40% of the county being covered by National Parks e.g. the Yorkshire Dales  and the North York Moors. It also includes the historic city of York and popular seaside towns such as Scarborough and Whitby situated on the popular Yorkshire coast.

Education within North Yorkshire is the responsibility of North Yorkshire County Council. For geographical reasons, we generally place participants from the one-term and one-year placement programmes only in the western part of North Yorkshire.


Northumberland, a county which contains another of the most popular National Parks in England, is the northernmost county in north-east England and borders Cumbria to the west, County Durham to the south and Tyne and Wear to the south-east. It also shares a border with Scotland and has a North Sea coastline designated as an area of outstanding natural beauty. Northumberland is one of the most sparsely populated areas in England with a total population of 316,00 and a population density of only 163 persons per square mile.

The county is noted for its high moorland, many old castles (the castle at Alnwick can be seen in the Harry Potter films), the beautiful old market town of Hexham, Lindisfarne (or Holy Island), and of course the world-famous Hadrian’s Wall built in AD 122, a UNESCO World Heritage Site described by English Heritage as ‘the most important monument built by the Romans in Britain’.

Education in Northumberland is the responsibility of Northumberland County Council.

Dumfries and Galloway

Created in 1975 by uniting the historic region of Galloway and the County of Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway is now one of the main regions of Scotland. To the south it borders Cumbria in England, whilst to the north it borders South Ayrshire and South Lanarkshire and in the east the Scottish Borders.

Dumfries and Galloway is a truly beautiful area to visit, situated just to the north of the Solway Firth and with its west coast fronting the Irish Sea. Currently the population for Dumfries and Galloway is approximately 148,600 and the region is famous for its many well-known artists and writers.

Education is the responsibility of the Dumfries and Galloway Council.


Ayrshire is a beautiful historic county in south-west Scotland, located on the shores of the Firth of Clyde. Its principle towns include Ayr, Kilmarnock and Irvine and its total population is currently 366,800. Famous as the birthplace of the poet Robert Burns, Ayrshire is one of the most agriculturally fertile regions of Scotland.

For educational purposes, Ayrshire is sub-divided into three separate administrative areas: